Whitehall leak shows plans for seven separate Brexit bills

Replacing laws and regulations currently provided by Brussels will require seven separate Brexit bills covering specific sectors of government and the wider economy. 

A list of provisional legislation, leaked to The Times, shows separate bills having been prepared on immigration, tax, agriculture, trade and customs regimes, fisheries, data protection and sanctions.

Theresa May’s plans for a great repeal bill, transposing EU law into UK law are expected to appear in this year’s Queen’s speech, but separate acts of parliament will increase the potential for MPs and peers to shape the UK’s post Brexit settlement.

A further six bills could also be required,

To see the full content, share this page by clicking one of the buttons below

Click here to Read from the source


Check Also

Russia says Ukraine's law calling it an 'aggressor' is preparation for a 'new war'

The Russian foreign ministry sees Ukraine’s efforts to denounce Moscow as an “aggressor country” as ...